XMW Counselling

EXPRESS. EXPLORE. TRANSFORM.

XMW headshot_150x150

Xavier Williams, MCP

Canadian Certified Counsellor
Conseiller Canadien Certifié

Approach

I take an existential-phenomenological view when working with clients—which means that I seek to be open to whatever issues you bring to our sessions, without judgement or applying my interpretation. Together we enter into a conversation that examines your experiences, emotions, and thoughts, from which you can make decisions that enable you to respond and react to life and its challenges.

Some of the reasons that someone might seek counselling include:

  • Grief and loss
  • Life changes (adolescence, career, divorce, parenting)
  • Stress and anxiety
  • Addictions
  • Trauma
  • Depression
  • Relationships and couples
  • Identity (gender, sexual orientation, personal)

Issues are treated according to your experiences of them using a variety of techniques. In addition to grounding my approach in existentialism, I also draw from multiple theories as needed (cognitive behavioural therapy, Adlerian, mindfulness, etc.). How we go about things is always personalized and always within your control. Consider me a guide, rather than a guru.

Counselling is usually either brief or long-term. Although this is best determined by the particular issue, it is often determined by cost and other practicalities. I therefore offer both short-term counselling and long-term psychotherapy.

Short-Term Counselling

The aim of short-term counselling is to resolve a specific concern, which is typically triggered by an event or a sudden awareness of something not “fitting” with who you are or who you want to be. Usually lasting between four and six sessions, this type of counselling is more practical, where we work on a specific action plan and goal setting to address that concern.

Long-Term Psychotherapy

Long-term counselling or psychotherapy is useful when the issue is more complicated and requires a deeper and broader exploration into its source, impact, and resolution. Examples include issues stemming from childhood and adolescence, unresolved traumatic events, and unprocessed information that is a major obstacle to enjoying a fulfilling life. This counselling is paced, with no definite session count.

About

I strive to be a kind, compassionate, and thoughtful listener; am curious about and interested in people; and possess a genuine desire to help others.

Bilingual in French and English, I have a master’s degree in counselling psychology from Adler University and am in the process of completing a graduate diploma in existential counselling from Austrian-based GLE International—Society for Logotherapy and Existential Analysis. Though I currently live in Canada, I have previously worked and studied in South Africa (Cape Town) and the United Kingdom (London). Before deciding to become a counsellor, I worked in corporate environments in the legal and human rights fields.

For the last three years, I have volunteered with the Vancouver Crisis Centre, and now work there as a staff member in a supervisory role. I also worked with Vancouver Coastal Health Child and Youth Mental Health as part of a practicum placement. In my counselling practice I have worked with individuals, couples, and groups struggling with  addiction, identity, anxiety, and depression. Clients include professionals, musicians, young people, and survivors of abuse and trauma.

Outside of counselling, I am a keen participant in several sports, including water polo, curling, cross-country skiing, running, cycling, and hiking. I serve as a member of the board of directors of the Society of Existential Analysis of Canada, and continue to be involved in a project around community mental health resources that started during one of my degree practicum placements.

Rates

Counselling rates (inclusive of tax):

30-minute introductory session: Free (by phone)
60-minute individual session: $120
90-minute couples session: $150

You can always cancel or reschedule an appointment, but if done with less than 24 hours’ notice, the full session fee will be charged.

* Extended Health Benefits – Some extended health providers cover Canadian Certified Counsellors (CCC). Please check with your provider.

I am an approved counsellor for the Crime Victim Assistance Program (CVAP) through the BC Ministry of Justice. This program pays for counselling for victims, immediate family members, and witnesses of a crime that has caused physical or emotional injury.

Collaborators

I work with other mental health and health care practitioners in Vancouver and on Salt Spring Island.

MVMTLAB: Chiropractic, physical rehab, and pilates

Tapestry Counselling Centre: Specialists in recovery from childhood abuse

Healing Place

Contact

I see clients downtown Vancouver (470 Granville Street) and East Vancouver (Fraser and 29th).

EMAIL
xavier@xmw.ca (please expect a reply within 24 hours)

PHONE
604-379-3615 (please leave a message)

XMW Counselling

EXPRIMER. EXPLORER. TRANSFORMER.

XMW headshot_150x150

Xavier Williams, MCP

Conseiller Canadien Certifié

Canadian Certified Counsellor

Approche

Je me sers d’une vision existentielle-phénoménologique quand je suis avec un client. Ce qui signifie que je cherche a rester ouvert a tous les problèmes que vous apportez a nos sessions sans juger ou appliquer mon interprétation. Ensemble nous démarrons une conversation qui passe au crible vos expériences, vos émotions et vos pensées, et à partir de laquelle vous pourrez prendre des décisions qui vous permettront de répondre et de réagir à la vie et à ses défis.

Certaines des raisons qui pourraient pousser quelqu’un à rechercher une aide psychologique sont :

  • Deuil et chagrin
  • Changements dans la vie (adolescence, carrière, divorce, rôle des parents)
  • Stress et anxiété
  • Dépendances
  • Traumatismes
  • Dépression
  • Relations et couples
  • Crise identitaire (genre, orientation sexuelle. personnelle)

Les problèmes sont traités, à partir des expériences que ces problèmes ont générées, en utilisant une variété de techniques. En plus de baser mon approche dans l’existentialisme, je me sers, selon le cas, de plusieurs autres théories (thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, psychologie d’Adler, etc.) La façon dont nous procédons est toujours personnelle et sous votre contrôle. Considérez-moi comme un guide plutôt qu’un guru.

Les sessions de counseling peuvent être soit à courts termes soit à long termes. Bien qu’il soit préférable de faire ce choix au cas à cas, très souvent cela est décidé par le coût et autres aspects. J’offre donc les deux : des sessions de counseling à courts termes et une psychothérapie à long termes.

SESSIONS DE COUNSELLING A COURTS TERMES

L’idée de sessions de counselling a court termes a pour but de résoudre une préoccupation précise, généralement provoquée par un événement ou une soudaine réalisation que quelque chose ne « va « pas pour qui vous êtes ou voudriez être. Ces sessions varient entre 4 et 6. Ce type de counselling a un aspect plus pratique avec un plan d’action bien défini et un but précis pour adresser cette préoccupation.

PSYCHOTHERAPIE A LONG TERMES

Une psychothérapie a longs termes est utile quand le problème est plus complique et demande une exploration pus large et plus approfondie. Par exemple, problèmes ayant leur origine dans l’enfance, l’adolescence, des événements traumatiques non résolus, et/ou des notions mal assimilees et qui empêchent une vie heureuse et complète. Ce type de thérapie se fait pas à pas et il n’y a pas un nombre de sessions défini.

Qui suis-je

Je m’efforce d’être un patricien qui sait écouter et qui fait preuve de compassion et de réflexion. Les êtres humains m’intéressent et j’ai une réelle volonté d’aider les autres.

Bilingue français- anglais j’ai un Master en – Psychologie-Counselling de l’université d’ADLER et je suis en train de terminer un Diplôme universitaire de psychologie Counselling existentielle de GLE la Société Internationale de Logothérapie et Analyse Existentielle basée en Autriche. Bien qu’installé au Canada à présent ,j’ai vécu et fait des études en Afrique du Sud (Cape Town) et au Royaume uni (Londres). Avant de m’installer comme patricien de psychologie- counselling j’ai travaillé dans le monde des affaires dans les domaines du Droit et des Droits de l’homme.

Ces trois dernières années je me suis porté volontaire au “ Crisis Center ” de Vancouver et suis maintenant membre du personnel permanent en tant que superviseur. J’ai aussi travaillé avec l’organisation “ Health Child and Youth Mental Health ” de Vancouver pour la partie pratique de mon Master. Pour cet aspect pratique j’ai travaillé avec des individuels, des couples et des groupes qui luttaient contre des dépendances, des problème d’identité, d’anxiété, dépression. Les clients, à qui j’ai eu à faire, étaient des professionnels, des musiciens, des jeunes ainsi que des rescapés de maltraitance et de traumatismes.

Quand je ne travaille pas je fais beaucoup de sport : water polo. Curling, ski de fond, course, cyclisme et randonnée. Je suis membre du Conseil d’administration de la Société de Analyse Existentielle au Canada et suis toujours impliqué dans le projet des ressources pour la Santé Mentale au niveau communautaire , qui avait commencé lors de l’un des deux stages pratiques de mon Master.

Coût

Frais de consultation (toutes taxe comprise)

Session d’introduction de 30 minutes : gratuit (par téléphone)

Session de 60 minutes : $ 120

Session de 90 minutes : $ 150

Il est toujours possible d’annuler ou de changer un rendez-vous, mais si cela est fait à moins de 24 heures de celui–ci la consultation devra être payée dans sa totalité.

*Extended Health Benefits – Certaines assurances couvrent les Patriciens de psychologie-counselling accrédité au Canada(CCC). Renseignez vous auprès de votre assurance.

Associés

Je travaille avec d’autres professionnels de la santé mentale et de soins de santé à Vancouver et à Salt Spring Island .

MVMTLAB: Chiropracteurs, réadaption physique, et pilates

Tapestry Counselling Centre: Les spécialistes de la récupération de l’abus de l’enfance

Healing Place

Contact

Je consulte au centre ville (470 Granville Street) et East Vancouver (Fraser et 29th).

 

 

 COURRIEL: xavier@xmw.ca (réponse dans les 24 heures)

 TELEPHONE : 604-379-3615 (Laissez un message)